Myanmar is a multi-ethnic federal country. Due to historical and political reasons, since the colonial era, many borderlands are divided into regions to accommodate the majority Burmese group and other ethnic minorities so as to establish a mutual restrained effect among them.  This caused Myanmar a lot of political stability issues.  However, in the past decade, Myanmar is gradually opening its doors to the world.

There are as many as 135 recognized ethnic groups in Myanmar.  The major ethnic group is Bamar (68%).  Other ethnic minorities include Shan (9%), Kayin (7%), Yahain (3.5%), Mon (2%) and Kachin (1.5%).  In addition, there are early immigrants like Chinese, Indian and Bangladeshis. Myanmar’s official language is Burmese.  The ethnic minorities use their own languages.  Apart from the Chinese, Chinese language can also be used among the Northern ethnic minorities.

Chinese Schools – Sustaining the Chinese Culture

The Chinese education in Myanmar has suffered from many difficulties.

At the beginning of the independence of Myanmar, there were a large number of Chinese schools established by Chinese in Myanmar. Later in the 1960s, Chinese exclusion happened in Myanmar. The Chinese schools were forced to close. Trying to save these schools, the Chinese at that time claimed themselves as Kokant ethnic group.  As a result, Chinese schools, “disguised” as Kokant schools, were able to survive.

In the 1990s, under the acquiescence of the Myanmar government, Chinese schools were re-established in various places in Myanmar. Since the Chinese schools are not statutory schools, they can only use the “after school” time for lessons. Chinese students hence are having very hard time. They have to attend Chinese schools at 6 am and then go to their Burmese schools at 8 o’clock. When the Burmese schools ended, they then return to the Chinese schools to continue their study.  They also need to attend the Chinese schools during Burmese school holidays. With the appreciation of traditional Chinese culture, more and more Chinese persist in studying in Chinese schools.

Schools after the conflict

In 3 counties in an inland State southeast of Myanmar, live about 1.4million people.  Among them, 80% are of Kayin ethnic group.  The total number of Kayin people is about 6 million which is about 10% of the total population in Myanmar.  Kayin is the third largest ethnic group in Myanmar after the Bamar and Shan.  Mon State, one of Myanmar States, is located in the southern part of the country, west of Gulf of Mataban. The Salween River divides this State into the northern and southern parts.  It covers an area of 12,155 square kilometers and has a population of 2,466,000 to 8,466,000.

After the independence from Britain in 1948, Myanmar is under the military regime most of the time.  The Kayin once formed an ethnic armed group (Kayin National Union ) to fight against the central government.  Initially, they sought for independence but later only demanded for federalism.  In January 2012, the Myanmar government signed a cease-fire agreement with the Kayin National Union in Hpa-An, the capital of Kayin State.  Since then, the conflict between Kayin people and the government was basically settled.  After Aung San Suu Kyi’s political party came to power in 2015, the government also implement a plan to bring peace to Myanmar.  People who fled to the mountains during the civil war gradually returned and settled in their original villages.

After the ceasefire, everything need to be re-established.  With a gradual growth in population in villages, there is an urgent demand for schools. In Nov 2017, Sowers Action visited Kayin and Mon States to evaluate the possibility of funding education related projects like building schools and students’ dormitories.  We hope that these projects will provide local children a safe and suitable environment for their study.

緬甸是一個多民族的聯邦國家,因為歷史及政治原因,從殖民時代開始,便設置了很多邊陲地區,按次分給佔多數的緬族及各少數民族,讓他們彼此牽制,令政局一直不穩。但在過去的十年,緬甸正逐步向世界打開大門。

於緬甸,官方承認的民族多達135個,主體民族為緬族(68%),其他少數民族包括撣族(9%)﹑克倫族(7%)﹑若開族(3.5%)﹑孟族(2%)及克欽族(1.5%)等。此外,這個國家還有華人﹑印度人﹑孟加拉人等早期移民。緬甸的官方語言為緬語,少數民族皆使用本族的語言。漢語除了在緬甸華人內部外,北部少數民族地區也通行。

華文學校—傳承中華文化

緬甸的華文教育,歷經滄桑。

在緬甸獨立之初,緬甸境內華人創辦的華文學校數量不少。其後,於1960年代緬甸發生排華事件,華文學校遭封閉,當時的華人於是以果敢族自居,令果文 (華文) 學校可以僥倖保存。

1990年代,在緬甸政府的“默許”下,華文學校以各種名義在緬甸各地重新創辦起來。由於不是法定學校,華文學校只能利用政府學校的課餘時間授課。華文學生因此極為辛苦,早上6點就要趕到華文學校上課,到8點再去緬文學校;等到下午緬文學校放學,又回到華文學校上課。而每年在緬文學校的假期,華文學生又要在華文學校繼續上學。在對中華傳統文化的認同下,堅持到華文學校學習的華文學生日益增多。

隨著中國經濟體的強勢崛起,中緬貿易也日益頻繁,華文教育在緬甸也日漸受到重視。雖然依舊未能取得正式的合法身份,但已是默許的存在。

在緬甸北部撣邦的臘戌,現時有90多間華文學校,全部由民間自發開辦。很多華文學校,特別是在鄉間的村校,資源貧乏,校舍破舊簡陋,除了枱櫈,基本上沒有其他設備。學校的主要收入是學費,全用作老師的薪金 (約每月港元600-1500),收入不穩定。一些家境困難的孩子,亦因沒法負擔華文學校每月約50港元的學費而沒法上學。

衝突以後的學校

緬甸東南部內陸的一個邦,下分3縣,人口約140萬,克倫族佔八成。克倫族總人口約600萬,佔緬甸人口百分之十,是僅次於緬族和撣族的第三大種族。孟邦是緬甸的一個邦,位於該國南部。薩爾溫江把邦分為南北兩部,西臨莫塔馬灣。面積12,155平方公里,人口2,466,000至8,466,000之間。

緬甸自1948年脫離英國獨立後,政權大部分時間由軍人專斷,克倫民族聯盟一直武裝對抗著緬甸中央政府。起初,抗爭的目的是獨立,之後則改為爭取建立聯邦制度。2012年1月,緬甸政府與克倫民族聯盟在克倫邦東部首府帕安簽署了停火協議,衝突大至平息。加上昂山素姬政黨於2015年上台執政推行復和計劃,在深山逃避戰火的村民逐漸返回村落定居。

停火後的地區百廢待興,村落慢慢多了村民聚居,對教育有迫切的需求,苗圃行動於2017年11月開始考察克倫邦及孟邦,將展開包括建校、學生宿舍等的項目,希望為當地的孩子提供安全及合適的學習環境。