Established in 1992, Sowers Action is a non-religious, non-political and non-profit-making charitable organization in Hong Kong, committed to promote education aid.  We provide multi-dimensional supports including student sponsorship, school construction and facilities, teacher training, children’s home and special education, bringing education to underprivileged or disabled students. Our works emphasize “On-site Assessment, Direct Subsidy and Long-Term Follow up”. We raise program funds independent of overheads and administration costs, ensure all generous donation are used in effective manner.

With the rapid economic growth, education policy in mainland China has been undergoing notable transformation. We are pleased to see that the education development has notable progress.  However, due to the geographical and economical differences, some areas’ economy and education are yet to be improved.  This especially applies to the southwest and northwest regions.  We will still need to work hard in these regions.

At the same time, people in some China’s neighboring countries are facing very difficult life due to political factors, racial conflicts, natural disasters etc. Many children lost their homes, their loved ones, their opportunity of schooling even their right to life. The education in these countries is not progressing well.  In view of this, an amendment to Sowers’ constitutions was passed in the Annual General Meeting in October 2017 to extend our work to countries outside China so that Sowers can play a greater role to benefit more children in need.

We organize various fundraising activities including “Walk to Guangzhou”, “Long March for Education”, “Ancient Tea-Horse Route Expedition”, “Cycling for Education”, “Challenging 12 Hours Charity Marathon”, “Charity Golf Tournament” and “Walk for Children” to raise public awareness about the cause we support.

As of Jun 2018, Sowers Action has subsidized over HKD600 million on projects in Hong Kong, Mainland China (16 provinces) and Myanmar.

Vision

No child should be deprived of education due to poverty.

Mission

To provide children in poverty with good education conditions and healthy environment to grow up by pooling social resources and mobilizing volunteers’efforts on school and children’s home projects.

Donation Applied Entirely to Cause

All donations raised are bound by our constitution and can only be used to aid education projects, unless specified. This offer donor assurance that 100% program funds raised will be applied towards the benefit of program helping those in need.

To move forward our education programs, it incurs project execution and administration expenses. In the past difficult years, we are grateful to have our Council to the Board for their unrelenting and unsung support to help carry out our mission and objective.

Our organization insists on being financially transparent. All books and accounts of Sowers Action are open to the public for inspection. All donation and accounts settlements are audited annually in accordance with law by one of the “Big Four” CPA firm, Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu.

苗圃行動於 1992 年在香港註冊成立,是一個非宗教、非政治、非牟利的慈善機構。我們以促進教育為宗旨,透過一系列實際行動,採用「多元助學」模式提供學生資助、建校及配套、師資培訓、兒童之家和特殊教育的支援,讓貧困或殘障學生享有平等的教育機會。我們強調「實地考察、直接資助、長期跟進」,籌募所得的善款百分百用於助學用途,運作經費獨立籌募,使捐款得以善用。

隨著內地經濟的迅速發展,教育政策亦得到大力的改善,我們喜見內地的教育工作已在有規模地前進。但是,由於地理環境及地域經濟的不同,有些地區特別是西南及西北地區,經濟﹑教育仍待改善,我們的工作亦需努力不懈。

同時,在中國周邊的地區,因政治﹑種族衝突﹑天然災害等原因,令當地人民生活困難,教育發展停滯不前。很多適齡兒童失去家園、失去親人、失掉上學的機會,甚至連最基本的生存權利也被剝削。因此,我們於2017年10月,經會員大會通過修改會章,將我們的助學工作拓展至境外地區,讓這個助學平台能發揮更大的效益,惠及更多有需要困境兒童。

我們每年均舉辦各類型籌款活動,包括「行路上廣州」、「助學長征」、「茶馬古道助學行」、「單車助學行」、「挑戰12小時」、「慈善高爾夫球賽」、「童樂行」等活動,積極推廣助學訊息。

自成立至2017年12月底,苗圃行動分別於香港、內地(16省市)及緬甸三地進行資助,總資助金額超過6億港元。

願景

沒有孩子因困境而得不到學習機會

使命

凝聚社會資源,透過義工熱誠參與,投放在教育和福利院,讓困境兒童得到良好學習條件及健康成長環境。

善款100%助學

眾所周知苗圃助學善款100%用於助學,不能從中扣除任何百分比用作會方運作經費或活動經費。你們捐贈的一分一毫助學捐款,均會用於資助項目、用於受惠者身上。

但巧婦難為無米炊,有了助學善款亦需要運作經費來跟進助學工作。在過去艱難歲月,多謝各名譽理事出手相助,使我們緊絀的助學運作善款得以紓緩。這些年來他們默默的支持,靜悄悄的捐款,讓我們可以安心跟進助學工作。

我們強調財務透明,收支和審計報告公開在苗圃網頁予公眾查核。每年善款收支結算均依法例由德勤.關黃陳方(Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu)會計師行進行核數。