China provides 9 years free education for primary and junior high school students, implementing the “Two remissions and One subsidy”: – remissions of miscellaneous and textbook fees, subsidy for boarding students. In recent years, China has trial-run 12 years free education including high school education in a few regions. Yet, being a country with 13 billions of population, it is an enormous figure to have every single issue applied to every single person. As announced in 2015, there are still 592 poverty-stricken counties* by the State Council standards, and it is real not easy to universally implement 12 years free education.

Hugh difference between urban and rural education

The disparity between the rich and the poor in Mainland China is also reflected in urban-rural education. As the source of educational funding is mainly from local government budget, urban cities tend to have more educational resources and a higher chance of receiving education. Those regions that are lack of resources with tight finance, tax income is inadequate to support local education and thus have to rely on central government for subsidy. Because of the poor conditions, capable teachers prefer working in the city to earn a higher salary. Therefore, recruitment of rural teacher is relatively more difficult. Some teachers even have to teach subjects which they are not professionally trained in, thus affecting the quality of education.

Closing down and merging schools

The economic development in Mainland China re-structures local administration and also affects the educational policy. In some remote areas, the closing down and merging of schools forces affected students to walk a few hours to their primary or secondary schools. As a result, some central schools suffer from the problem of inadequate classrooms, dormitories and canteens. Not eating at home also adds financial burden to families. Students from families that cannot afford such expenses have to cut their meals from 3 to 2 a day.

One-teacher-one-school

This happens to those villages with dozens of households sparsely located over a certain area with lots of small school units; and these areas barely have any economic development, and one have to walk a few hours because of absence of transportation. Since there may not be students for certain grade; or no recruitment for that year; students of different grades are under the same roof, and taught by one teacher even though he may not have adequate experience, as no teacher is willing to come. This is the scenario of one-teacher-one-school.

There once was a story about a high school graduate working as a substitute teacher in a poor village. No one was willing to take up the job due to the low salary and poor living environment of the village. This substitute teacher did not want to see this poor village went without any education, he then decided to stay and worked as a teacher there. He stayed on for over twenty years, got married and had a son. During these years, his neighbours’ children were able to receive education because of him. However, when his own son got admitted to a high school in the city, he was unable to pay the school fee.

*note: poverty-stricken counties by the State Council standards is based on the annual net income of the locals. According to the 2012 report by the State Council Leading Group Office of Poverty Alleviation and Development, a place is considered as poverty-stricken if its average annual income is less than RMB2,300; and a relatively lower standard is applied to regions of ethnic minority groups and old revolutionary base area.

中國為小學至初中生提供9年免費教育,實施「兩免一補」:免學費、書簿雜費和補助寄宿生生活費。中國近年在少部份地區試行12年包括高中的免費教育,然而因為中國是13億的人口國家,每一件事乘一個人口數都會是天文數字,在2015年最新公佈的國家級貧困縣*仍有592個,能夠全面推行12年免費教育並不容易。

城鄉教育差距大

內地貧富懸殊,也反映在城鄉教育,由於教育財政來源,以地方財政為主,教育資源和接受教育的機會,較集中在城市。本來資源匱乏財政緊絀的地方,稅收都不足以支援本地教育,長期依靠中央撥款。因為條件差,有能力的教師都喜歡到城巿工作,賺取較高收入,因此,農村教師招聘較難,部份教師更需要同時任教非其專業的學科,影響著教育質素。

撤點併校(殺校)

隨著內地經濟發展,地方行政重新規劃,內地教育政策亦受影響。在一些特別偏遠的山區,「撤點併校」迫使這批孩子要走幾小時路往鄉鎮的中心小學或中學讀書,導致部份中心學校出現課室不足,宿舍、食堂不敷應用等問題。也因為要離家吃飯,增加了家庭負擔,家裡支持不起的,住校的有些學生每天的三餐只能變為兩餐。

一師一校

出現在一些幾乎無經濟發展,因交通隔阻每每要走幾小時山路,「分佈廣、校點多、佈局散、規模小」,可能只有幾十戶人家的村組。由於不是每年都有該年級的學生,也可能不每年收生,在同一屋簷下坐著不同年級的班,只有一位教師教學,可能他的資歷也不高,但願意來的教師卻沒有了,這就是一師一校。

曾經有個故事,有個高中畢業生當代課的,因為窮鄉僻壤工資和生活條件低,沒有人肯接任,他擔心那個地方從此沒有了教育,就留下當教師,一當廿幾年,結婚生子,他讓無數鄰家的孩子有書讀,到他兒子有天考上了高中,要到縣城上學,他卻連供孩子的學費也拿不出。

註:國家級貧困縣的劃定標準以當地人年均淨收入爲依據。2012年中國扶貧開發領導小組辦公室公佈的標準,人均年收入少於2300元人民幣的視作國家級貧困縣,少數民族地區與革命老區則相應的降低標準。