Without education, one may have to struggle at the bottom of a society, resulting in intergenerational poverty. The whole community and even the whole country become hopelessness.

However, it is not a must for one to have a chance to receive education.

Global illiteracy rate remains high

According to the statistics of the UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) in 2017, currently there are 750 million illiterate people in the world. They are lacking of basic literacy skills. Among them, about 260 million children and adolescents are unable to attend school due to various reasons.

Due to its geographical and historical background, China’s illiterate population (illiterate people aged 15 and above) remains as the second highest in the world! According to the “Major Figures of the 2010 Population Census (No. 1)” released by the National Bureau of Statistics of China, there are 54,656,573 illiterates among the population of 31 provinces, autonomous regions, municipalities and active servicemen.

Literacy is the foundation of lifelong learning and plays an important role in creating a sustainable, prosperous and peaceful society. On the contrary, illiteracy poses problems of disparity between the rich and the poor as well as unbalanced distribution of social resources. These, not only affecting the present, but also many coming generations.

Two-third of illiterates are female

Two-third of world illiterate population are female, and this ratio remains almost unchanged since 1990.

In rural China, female not just lack of the opportunity to attend school, some even are deprived of the right to decide for their marriages and personal life. One teenage girl graduated from junior high school is forced to marry a man she never met before, in order to reduce the family burden or to provide finance for the education of her brothers. This is just like a business deal, leaving her with no right to take charge of her own life and voicing out her own thought.

If this situation continues, the earliest for female in developing countries to reach universal literacy rate will be 2072. In other words, there’re still 57 years to go!

China is a rich country, why should I bother?

Whenever this notion came across your mind, do think about what will happen if Europe, the U.S. and Hong Kong are without NGO’s contribution? Education, health care system, etc may crumple right away. Government alone is inadequate to provide sufficient support and services.

One’s life is confined if without education

Children without education dare not dream about their future, but submitted to fate. Do you want to join us to change this unfair and unjust situation?

沒有教育或只能在社會最底層掙扎,跨代貧窮,一個社區甚至整個國家都絕望。

可惜能接受教育並非必然的。

全球文盲率仍然高企
根據2017年聯合國教科文組織統計研究的數據,全球目前有7.5億文盲人士,他們缺乏最基本的識字能力,其中約2.6億兒童和青少年因各種原因而沒法上學。

因為地理和歷史原因,中國至今仍是全球文盲人口(15歲及以上不識字者)第二多的國家!據國家統計局《2010年第六次全國人口普查主要數據公報(第1號)》顯示,內地31個省、自治區、直轄市和現役軍人的人口中,文盲人口爲54,656,573人!而中國90%的文盲分佈在農村,一半文盲人口在西部地區。

識字是終身學習的基礎,對於創造可持續發展、繁榮與和平社會有很重要的角色。相反,文盲則構成了貧富懸殊和社會資源不均等問題,並影響著今後幾代人。

近2/3的成年文盲為女性
全球文盲人口中,有三分二為女性,這比例自1990年起幾乎沒改變!

在中國農村,女性不僅缺乏上學機會,有些就連婚姻和人生的選擇機會都受剝削。有十多歲的農村女孩,初中畢業,便被父母嫁予素未謀面的人,以減輕家庭負擔,或收取禮金供哥哥弟弟讀書,如同買賣,沒有自主和發言權,令人無奈。

據悉,若趨勢持續,發展中國家的女性,最快要到2072年才能達到普及識字率,距離現在還有57年!

中國是發達大國,毋須援手?
當有人這樣覺得時,假如歐美香港也抽走了慈善團體的貢獻,教育醫療等都可能即時崩潰,單靠政府無法提供足夠服務。

這也構成了貧富懸殊和社會資源不均等問題,並影響著今後幾代人。

缺乏教育 成為人生朿縛
這些生活在困境的孩子,連做個夢也不敢,沒受教育,只能向命運低頭……你願意和我們攜手改變不公平不公義嗎?